Wolfchild

Generator queries

13 posts in this topic

When the rules state that a template be placed "within" a range, does it mean:

Template completely within?

Measure to centre of the template?

or Part of the template must be within?

 

Disruption generator affects 'all models with generators in range, roll a D6'. Does that mean:

Roll a D6 and apply the result to all affected models in range?

or Roll a separate D6 for each model affected in range and apply the result for each model accordingly?

 

Tesla generator says it's activated in the Movement consolidation step, but the Boost function says it affects its movement, the boost would have to be triggered before the model is moved not after.

Its also unclear whether the models affected by boots must count the boost as part of their minimum move (usually straight forward) or just a distance that must be moved in addition to the minimum move distance, before any option of remaining move inches.

 

Storm Generator:

At what point are Storm templates placed if not already in effect? It is not listed in the rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Blast Templates: the template has to be completely inside the max range.

If you are using multiple templates in an area bombardment the other templates just scatter in whatever direction the random direction chart says it does. Even if it goes beyond max range.

 

Disruption Generator: I'd say it is roll once and apply the effect to everything in range.

 

Tesla Generator: I believe it was switched to after your main movement because the surge ability was rarely used in comparison to the Boost. So to make the Surge more important choice the boost was moved.

 

However, the rulebook is clear in that the boost is just an extra D3" you get to move your model directly forward after you've finished your main move with the model. 

For example, the Prussian battlecruiser moved 8", using 2" to turn to the left. Then the player uses the Tesla Boost to gain an extra 2" straight ahead.

 

Storm Generator: they are placed whenever the activating model has spent the points to place it of course.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Merlin the wording and timing for the Tesla boost really is NOT clear. It's on top of the minimum movement in the rules, but it doesn't say in what way, it suggests possibly that u determine it at the start of move, with min move, but that's after saying it's in the move consolidation step.

regarding the Storm generator, of course it's when the activating model spends the points, but it does say when/at what step they get to spend those points.

 

Where do u get your ruling that templates have to be "completely within"? Do u have a page reference? Use Teleportation portals for example.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought the Tesla Gen wording was quite clear.  It doesn't activate until after standard movement so it can't have an effect before standard movement is finished.  For each model that wants to use the boost you then roll D3 (individually for each model in turn) and move that many inches straight ahead.

If you want to use it offensively, pick a target and roll on the table instead of rolling movement.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, Wolfchild said:

@Merlin the wording and timing for the Tesla boost really is NOT clear. It's on top of the minimum movement in the rules, but it doesn't say in what way, it suggests possibly that u determine it at the start of move, with min move, but that's after saying it's in the move consolidation step.

regarding the Storm generator, of course it's when the activating model spends the points, but it does say when/at what step they get to spend those points.

 

Where do u get your ruling that templates have to be "completely within"? Do u have a page reference? Use Teleportation portals for example.

The Tesla Generator rules are clear. It's an extra D3" of movement after your normal movement, but you have to move your minimum move and the full extra D3" you get from the boost. So you can move your 2" minimum only and then get an extra 3" from the boost, then you have satisfied the requirements of the boost.

 

For the Storm Generator, page 165 says all Generators are used during the Command Consolidation Step....unless otherwise noted by the generator itself.

 

As for the templates, that is what I was told repeatedly by the this forum.

Wolfchild likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only argument I can see for the blast templates (note that Energy Blasts and Particle Accelerators simply need the target model to be in range, not the template) needing to be wholly within is if you understand the entire area covered by the template to be the 'initial aiming point' as described.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So energy portals from a teleport generator (24") would need to be placed entirely within 8" and 24" respectively.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, Wolfchild said:

So energy portals from a teleport generator (24") would need to be placed entirely within 8" and 24" respectively.

Correct.

If the template targets an area, it has to be fully within the range specified (unless a specific rule in its description, such as scatter from carpet-bombing, overrides it).

Wolfchild likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/9/2017 at 8:42 AM, Nazduruk_Bugzappa said:

Correct.

If the template targets an area, it has to be fully within the range specified (unless a specific rule in its description, such as scatter from carpet-bombing, overrides it).

Disagree with your application but agree that clarification is required, eg look at Area Bombardment, initial aiming point must be in range and then template (large or small) is applied on that point - while not stipulated, centre of template on aiming point is how we read it - similarly for energy portal etc.

Wolfchild likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One of my own questions: if a Generator that places a template (e.g dilation field, storm) gets shut down, does the template also disappear?

If yes, what if, say, an ottoman cruiser squadron that spends 2 points for one template and keeps the last one places a template down, then gets one of their generators shut down? Does the template still disappear?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The entry of the generator will tell you what happens. Storm generator says, the template/cloud effects last until the end of the turn (p.172; 2.5 rules).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, khakiduck said:

Disagree with your application but agree that clarification is required, eg look at Area Bombardment, initial aiming point must be in range and then template (large or small) is applied on that point - while not stipulated, centre of template on aiming point is how we read it - similarly for energy portal etc.

I would suggest that "initial aiming point" is the entire template.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/14/2017 at 2:29 AM, Phant Mastik said:

The entry of the generator will tell you what happens. Storm generator says, the template/cloud effects last until the end of the turn (p.172; 2.5 rules).

Just clearing this up. You're right in saying that the generator entry will tell you what happens, and as such, Storm Generators say this:

"If a Squadron for any reason does not have sufficient Storm Points to maintain a Storm Template, the Template must be removed immediately. If a Squadron maintains multiple Storm Templates the controlling player may decide which Templates should be removed."

Hence Storm Generators do have to be maintained, which does not seem to be the case for other template generators.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now